TCR Malaysia kicks off at Sepang

One of the latest additions to the ever-growing list of TCR series and championship all over the world, TCR Malaysia, will kick off this weekend at Sepang International Circuit.

Two more events will follow at the same venue, on January 25/26 and February 23/24.

Thirteen cars have been entered for the inaugural race meeting, representing four brands: CUPRA, Honda, Hyundai and Volkswagen.

Amongst the drivers there are two reigning champions: Luca Engstler, who clinched the titles in TCR Asia and TCR Middle East and finished runner up in TCR Germany, and Charlie Kang who won the inaugural season of TCR Korea. They both will be at the wheel of Hyundai i30 N cars for Team Engstler and Indigo Racing respectively.

Team Engstler will also run a second Hyundai for Théo Coicaud, plus three Volkswagen Golf GTI cars for Kai Jordan, Henry Kwong and Adam Khalid. Another Golf will be driven by TCR Europe’s regular Martin Ryba under the banner of Brutal Fish Racing, while Hong Kong-based TeamWork Motorsport has still to name a driver for its own Golf GTI.

Experienced local Douglas Khoo will sit in his Viper Niza Racing CUPRA, while four Honda Civic cars will complete the field: one FK2 shared by the Maximum Racing’s pair of Gary Cheung and David Lau and three FK7/8. Kenneth Lau and Michael Choi will race for Prince Racing and Paul Ip for KCMG.