TCR Malaysia Championship returns this weekend at Sepang

The second event of the 2020 TCR Malaysia Championship gets underway this weekend, the event running alongside the Asian Le Mans Series for two more thirty minute races at the home of the Malaysian Motorcycle Grand Prix.

Englishman Daniel Lloyd holds the points lead after a pair of second-placed finishes during the opening round four weeks ago, the Brutal Fish Racing Honda driver back to defend that lead hot off the announcement that he would join the team again for the full season of TCR Europe.

Reigning champion and opening round winner Luca Engstler comes back to Sepang – the scene of his Championship domination 12 months ago – intent on taking back the points lead. A strong win from pole in the opening race saw a solid haul of points for the German, but the Hyundai favourite suffered from a tyre issue late in race two, crossing the line seventh whilst Hyundai Team Engstler team-mate Nico Gruber claimed his maiden win just a second clear of Lloyd.

With a pair of third-placed finishes on his TCR debut, Viper Niza Racing’s Gilbert Ang comes into his second event third in the points standings, clear of Gruber, the Austrian having suffered a DNF in the opening race of the season after contact in a battle with Ang.

Gilbert Ang, brother Freddie and Viper Niza Racing team boss Douglas Khoo will be back for the second event, their trio of iconic dark grey and fluro green Cupra TCRs intent on taking the fight to the Engstler Hyundais and the Lloyd Honda, but they won’t be alone, with the return of Indigo Racing to the Championship, with a name that is well recognised in TCR circles around the world, Briton Josh Files..

Having announced their return to the 2020 TCR Asia Series program, the South Korean-based outfit – who campaigned Spanish touring car sensation Pepe Oriola last season, are using the Malaysian-based Championship to prepare for the regional series in an effort to unseat the successful Engstler team who come into the TCR Asia program having claimed four consecutive drivers’, teams’ and manufacturers’ titles.

Files is one of the biggest names in European TCR having claimed the 2017 TCR Germany title, the 2017 TCR Middle East crown, and last year the 2019 TCR Europe title claiming three round victories in his Autodis Racing by Target Competition Hyundai i30N TCR.

2015 TCR Asia Series champions Prince Racing are also expected to compete at Sepang, making a return to TCR Malaysia after cameos last year, with regular Clio Cup Asia driver Tommy Ku at the wheel of the Honda Civic FK7.

Joining the program alongside the Asian Le Mans Series, TCR Malaysia will campaign the two 30-minute races on Saturday 15 February ahead of the final two rounds of the season – again at Sepang – two weeks later.

Follow the action through; Facebook; and keep up to date with the LIVE timing through


Rnd#3/4 – 2020 TCR Malaysia – schedule
Sepang International Circuit, Malaysia
14-15 February, 2020

Friday, 14 February
11:45am – TCR Malaysia – Official Practice#1 (30-minutes)
7:10pm – TCR Malaysia – Qualifying#1 (20-minutes)
7:35pm – TCR Malaysia – Qualifying#2 (10-minutes)

Saturday, 15 February
11:00am – TCR Malaysia Round#3 (11-laps/30-minutes)
2:35pm – TCR Malaysia Round#4 (11-laps/30-minutes)


2020 TCR Malaysia Driver’s Championship points (after two rounds of six)
1. Daniel Lloyd (40-points), 2. Luca Engstler (36), 3. Gilbert Ang (33), 4. Nicholas Gruber (25), 5. Freddie Ang (23), 6. Declan Fraser (20), 7. Yang Xi (18), 8. Douglas Khoo (12)

2020 TCR Malaysia Series Cup Driver’s Championship points (after two rounds of six)
1. Yang Xi (54-points), 2. Douglas Khoo (41)

2020 TCR Malaysia Team’s Championship points (after two rounds of six)
1. Hyundai Team Engstler (77-points), 2. Viper Niza Racing (56), 3. Brutal Fish Racing Team (40), 4 TeamWork Huff Motorsport (18)

2020 TCR Malaysia Car Model of the Year Championship points (after two rounds of six)
1. Hyundai (77-points), 2. Cupra (56), 3. Honda (40), 4. Audi (18)


2020 TCR Malaysia – calendar
Rnd#1/2 – Sepang International Circuit, Kuala Lumpur – 17-18 January, 2020
Rnd#3/4 – Sepang International Circuit, Kuala Lumpur – 14-16 February, 2020*
Rnd#5/6 – Sepang International Circuit, Kuala Lumpur – 28 February-1 March, 2020
* with Asian Le Mans Series

Keep up to date with the 2020 TCR Malaysia Championship;

For more information on the 2020 TCR Malaysia Championship, please email;